Leading music producers Serious have revealed the latest participants of one of its flagship talent development programmes under its Seriously Talented umbrella: Take Five

The programme’s latest artists demonstrate the vibrancy of the UK’s musical landscape and Serious’ commitment to nourishing and supporting the talent emerging from it.

This is the fourteenth edition of Take Five – a programme that gives emerging jazz musicians the chance to take some time out from the regular day-to-day practice of their career and develop their professional skills and artistry through a series of workshops, mentoring, and musical collaborations – welcomes eight new artists from a wide variety of backgrounds that truly reflects the strength and diversity of the current British jazz scene, as has been well documented.  

The newly announced participants for 2019’s edition of Take Five are Abel Selaocoe (cello and voice), Cassie Kinoshi (saxophone), Chris Ryan (drums and voice), Daniel Casimir (double bass and bass guitar), Emma-Jean Thackray (trumpet, electronics, and voice), Faye MacCalman (saxophone, clarinet, and voice), Jonathan Chung (saxophone), and Sam Healey (saxophone). 

Full details on each musician can be found in their biographies on this page.

Take Five is funded by Jerwood Arts, the PRS Foundation, and Help Musicians UK, with additional support from Arts Council England and the Serious Trust. 
 Previous participants of the programme include Seb Rochford, Shabaka Hutchings, Yazz Ahmed, and Nubya Garcia.