Jump to main content

Kronos Quartet: Five Decades

Kronos Quartet: Five Decades

Sun 12 May 2024

Stage time / 7:30pm


DUBLIN National Concert Hall,
Earlsfort Terrace
Dublin 2

The pioneering Kronos Quartet return as part of their 50th anniversary tour. For five decades, the San Francisco group (comprising violinists David Harrington and John Sherba, viola-player Hank Dutt, and cellist Paul Wiancko) has challenged and reimagined what a string quartet can be. Founded at a time when the string quartet form centred around Western European traditions, Kronos has since been central to revolutionising the string quartet into a living artform – using it to respond to both people and issues of our time.

Each concert features a major work by Steve Reich, written for Kronos, and then Kronos have created a different programme for each city - see below for details.

London Barbican | Sat 21 Oct

Bristol Beacon | Thurs 18 Jan

Dublin National Concert Hall | Sun 12 May

'Kronos Quartet has brokenthe boundaries of what string quartets do'

The New York Times

Directions to the venue