Will Glaser Duo + Sam Leak Organ Trio

LONDON Spice of Life
6 Moor Street


Two outstanding young organ units pervaying groove and swing.

Leading keyboardist Sam Leak is joined by Nicholas Costley-White on guitar, and Joel Barford on drums in presenting a thrilling set of Hammond organ trio arrangements inspired by Larry Golding's classic album Light Blue. Expect fresh, swinging, lyrical jazz, permeated by the blues. 

Sam Leak is a London-based Jazz pianist described by JazzFM's Helen Mayhew as 'One of the brightest stars in the Jazz piano galaxy, a heavenly improviser, and a brilliant prospect for the future.' His eponymous 2011 debut album was listed in MOJO Magazine as one of the 'Top Ten International Releases of the Year.' The 2013 follow up, Places, was described by the Guardian's John Fordham as 'surefooted creativity... way beyond respectful expertise,' and by BBC Music Magazine's Daniel Spicer as ‘assured and sophisticated acoustic jazz with deep roots in the tradition, that knows exactly what it's trying to do - and succeeds.’ Jamie Cullum introduced Leak's cohort as ‘the heavyweights of the British Jazz scene’ and described himself as a ‘fan’ of the band in his regular BBC broadcast. 

In 2018 Leak released Adrift, a duet with New York's Dan Tepfer, a long-time collaborator of legendary veteran saxophonist Lee Konitz. Of this album, The Wire's Marcus O'Dair has said: “Sam Leak and Dan Tepfer are two of the best pianists of their generation, and their convergence on this recording is astonishing.” The New York City Jazz Record have described it as "magical" and "constantly evolving and engaging." 

Open set by high energy duo of drummer Will Glaser and saxophonist Matthew Herd.

Will Glaser & Matthew Herd have been playing duo together since 2014. In the unusual context of saxophone and drums, they explore standards, pop songs, free improvisations and their own original compositions. With an emphasis on spontaneous composition, the pair draw on influences from jazz & 'world' music to free improvisation and singer songwriters. Their debut album 'climbing in circles' was released in January 2019; focusing on standards and improvisations.