Jonny Phillips' Oriole

LONDON Crypt Camberwell
81 Camberwell Church Street


Acoustic guitarist and composer Jonny Phillips brings his critically acclaimed six piece group Oriole back to life with a new set of musicians and tunes

Guitarist and composer Jonny Phillip’s Oriole feature a unique set of musicians chosen for their musical openness, empathetic playing and ability to assimilate folkloric styles into a unified contemporary sound. First formed in 2004 their members represent something of a F-IRE super group, albeit one whose sound is a million miles from the left-field jazz often associated with the groundbreaking collective of which they are associated. Oriole’s first two albums Song for the Sleeping – 2005 and Migration 2006 were released to critical success, with elements of South American folklore, art rock and rich cinematic tapestries sitting together naturally. The combination of these elements is in part what makes Oriole’s sound so powerful and affecting. Jonny is at the heart of Oriole, not only as composer and arranger, but also the guitarist quietly holding things together, the perfect foil to the outstanding frontline, Alam Nathoo (sax), and Mariona De Lamo (cello) and the formidably tight rhythm section of Marius Rodriguez(drums), Andy Hamil (bass) and Andres Ticino (percussion). Weaving his way between the two is Nick Ramm (piano). On Oriole’s more recently released third album Every New Day you can almost feel the sun passing overhead as Oriole undertakes a musical journey through parched landscapes influenced by the Iberian peninsula, where their composer spent the last few years performing with Spanish, Portuguese and Cuban musicians. This music is warm, not only in its Latin rhythms and alto tonalities but also in the musical interplay of these new and long-time musical friends who elevate Phillips gently luminous but compelling music to new heights. If music could provide vitamin D, Oriole’s new sun-soaked sound would be packed full of it or as Jazzwise put it – “Like Polar Bear at carnival time”. Guitar – Jonny Phillips Sax – Alam Nathoo Cello – Mariona De Lamo Keys – Nick Ramm Drums – Marius Rodrigues Bass – Andy Hamil Percussion – Andres Ticino